SA Passport and ID Guide (USA)
Unofficial and independent guide. Not a government website.
For general information only. This independent site is not affiliated with any government, bank or agency. Information can change and may contain errors; always confirm with the official source before you act. Nothing here is legal, financial or professional advice, and we accept no liability for decisions made using it.

Last checked: 21 Oct 2026

Fees for South African passports and ID at VFS in the USA

As published by VFS Global on 21 Oct 2026 [source]. Pay at the centre by credit or debit card only; other payment methods are not accepted. The VFS service fee is $60 on top of the consular fee.

ServiceConsular fee (USD)VFS service fee (USD)Total (USD)
Passport renewal, adult$67$60$127
Passport renewal, adult MAXI$133$60$193
Passport lost, adult$134$60$194
Passport lost MAXI, adult$266$60$326
Passport renewal, child$67$60$127
Passport renewal, MAXI child$133$60$193
Passport lost, child$134$60$194
Passport lost MAXI, child$266$60$326
First ID issuance / Smart ID first issuance$0$60$60
Smart ID re-issue$12$60$72
Birth registration$6$60$66

MAXI is the larger passport; the Embassy checklist describes Regular as 32 pages and MAXI as 48 pages [source]. Photos at the centre carry a separate fee that VFS does not state on the page we checked [source].

Embassy fees (money order, no cards)

Citizenship. The DHA reinstatement FAQ does not state a fee. The Embassy citizenship page still publishes $25 for a section 6(2) retention application made before foreign citizenship is taken, and $25 for a section 26(4) exemption for foreign citizenship taken before 6 October 1995 [source, source]. See citizenship.